Sneaky rain

It’s been raining for three days now. Along with the fact that it makes bike riding slightly less than enjoyable and necessitates  extra gear, it has also prompted this Arizona girl to put into words, just how rain (at least our current wintery rain) in Düsseldorf feels. I already mentioned that the rain in Arizona is different than in Düsseldorf. With Arizona rain you know what you’re dealing with – big fat drops that come (more or less) straight down and can be stopped by a trusty umbrella. The rain here, I’ve decided, is much sneakier. I’m not even sure it officially counts as precipitation, which I always thought had an element of falling to it. It’s more like a loose fog or a swirling mist of moist. You can’t protect yourself against it because the minute droplets defy gravity, sometimes seemingly coming from the bottom up. It’s like good old Düsseldorf is playing a game with you. Or maybe it’s that the sky is sympathizing with the trees, who have finally lost all their leaves and now stand naked in the park.

In any case, I am prepared for winter and whatever precipitation it chooses to throw my way – I already bought three new pairs of boots since we got here. I love boots! They keep your feet warm and dry and look oh-so-fabulous with skinny jeans or cashmere tights. And, I almost always keep a tank top close to my heart, literally. It’s like a piece of Arizona, just a few (onion) layers down.

PS for my sister – I love my delightfully colorful umbrella!

Leave a Reply

