Hot magic

Some of you will be surprised to hear this, but I actually skipped an opportunity to go to the gym last night. My excuse – it was raining snow. I don’t know what the official term is, but for a few minutes in the middle of a crazy rain storm yesterday afternoon, there was white stuff falling out of the very dark sky. I said to myself, no way am I going out in that. Rain? Ok. Snow rain? No way. I have my limits, people.

Fine. I guess it’s time to face the cold, hard, inevitable reality of winter. Noooo (she says, kicking and screaming on the floor)!

The one good thing about the onset of winter is that with it comes Christmas, and with that comes a whole bunch of fun stuff. The store windows are filled with Christmas decorations. Although I must happily say that either I’m going to the wrong places, or Christmas music is not as prevalent here because I haven’t been annoyed once yet by a Mariah Carey Christmas song. We have an advent calendar from Toby’s mom hanging in the apartment that provides a daily dose of chocolate. I’ve been busy gathering the perfect Christmas presents. And Toby and I are making sure to enjoy the local Christmas markets.

German Christmas markets are famous the world over. Along with stands selling Nutella crêpes, Dutch french fries, and Christmas tree ornaments is the beloved Glühwein – probably the best reason to visit a Christmas market.

Glühwein is the German’s answer to a cold winter evening. I don’t actually know who invented the stuff, but it’s pretty awesome. It’s essentially just spiced red wine served hot, but it has magical powers, I tell you. It brings the people out in droves, despite the cold. Even I don’t mind a nippy walk to sink myself into the warm mass of fellow Glühwein drinkers. There really is no better way to spend a cold pre-Christmas evening – with friends and good conversation over a steaming mug (or two) of Glühwein.

Cheers!

5 thoughts on “Hot magic

  1. It’s was in the 20s here tonight, and hot magic sounds delicious right now. I assume Gordon Biersch won’t be serving Glühwein, but we’re all looking forward to seeing you and Toby and sharing the holiday spirit come Friday evening. Cheers!

  2. Pingback: Transformation | chanceofsun

Leave a Reply

